Close to Hugh by Marina Endicott (4)

This is a wonderful book by an author who I am starting to really appreciate.

This story takes an existential look at youth and age, art and life, love and death over one week in the world of gallery-owner Hugh Argylle.

On Monday, a fall from a ladder leaves Hugh with a fractured vision of the pain suffered by those close to him–i.e., how dying parents, shaky marriages all around him, and failure of every kind.

His friends are one missed ladder-rung from going under emotionally, physically and financially.

Can Hugh fix them all?  Well, he will certainly try. But in the meantime, there are many more adventures to be had and to be discovered.

Endicott is a great masterful storyteller. I SO enjoy her stories that I will look up all of the ones that I can get my hands on.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Award Winning Author. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.