The Vintage Book of Canadian Memoirs by George Fetherling (239)

I am SO glad that I picked up this book from my local library. It is one of these books that I will treasure for a long time and it makes the Canadian Book Review Challenge even more exciting for me as I get ready to embark on a brand new year of book reviewing in July!

I guess I didn’t know how important literary memoir is in Canada.  There are so many voices including those of Margaret Atwood, Al Purdy, Mordecai Richler, and Michael Ondaatji. These authors were collected into this wonderful book in a unique and wonderful way.

This book is a collector item for anyone who would loves memoir and especially literary memoirs, like I do.

For this timely and distinguished anthology, George Fetherling has selected twenty-two unparalleled examples of the genre, and ahs written a spirited and insightful introduction that sheds light on the characteristics unique to the memoir as a form of important writing.

These pieces are passionate and wonderful. They are a treasure-throve of life, love, and loss.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Ontario, Margaret Atwood, Memoir. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

