The Book That Made Me: A collection of 32 Personal Stories By Judith Ridge (226)

This is a book like no other that I ever read. It is a treasure-throve of tidbits from writers and what made them who they are today. For many writers, it is what they read when they were young that turned them into the writers that they currently are. For some authors, it was one book that inspired them to write. Other times, it was a series of books by one author.

I love this book because I love books as well. This book made me look back on my own development and what made me become a philosopher. It was Aristotle and Plato. So, for me, these two philosophers inspired me to be who I am today: a reflective person who loves to critically reflect on topics and issues and to write about them.

For each of the authors showcased here in this anthology, they followed a similar progression of reading events. When a writer or thinker resonates with how you feel, it is one of the most important kinds of validation, one that you don’t just leave behind but instead one that you will honour for the rest of your lives.

I recommend this book for all readers, especially those who are writers or who have been influenced by writers in ways that are indescribable.

This is one of the best books that I read this year for the Canadian Book Mine Challenge!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Canadian Authors Featured, Nonfiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

