Embers: One Ojibway’s Meditations by Richard Wagamese (174)

This is one of the best Canadian books I have read in 2017-17 for the Canadian Book Review Challenge. It is a book that will help you to reflect, pause and enjoy every moment of every day.

For Richard Wagamese, every moment is sacred. He is also grateful and enjoys mornings. We can all learn about how to enjoy the beginning of days more through his meditations and reflections.

Given our noisy, media-driven culture, we need to learn how to recognize precious moments, and to take the time to enjoy them.

Wagamese’s book offers us a way of life that we can all cultivate. As Wagamese says:

“I am My silence. I am not the busyness of my thoughts or the daily rhythms of my actions. I am not the stuff that constitutes my world. I am not my talk I am not my actions. I am my silence. I am the consciousness that perceives all these things.”

This book will help us to realize the importance of cultivating silence every day.

Mindfulness in life is so important. And we get to enjoy life so much more. We are created and recreated in silence — in moments of stillness and quiet.

But what is more, Wagamese is a writer and a creative individual.  Writing is a spiritual process for him. And I could appreciate all that being a writer myself.

This is a book I will not forget soon.

The book is also laid out with beautiful, breathtaking nature scenes as well. This is a treasure throve of nature and grace.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Ontario, Educational book, Empowerment, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

