Angel Catbird by Margaret Atwood, Jonnie Christmas, Tamra Bnvillain (146)

This is a wonderful graphic novel written by three great writers. I have been trying to read a few more graphic novels this year and to expand my reading horizons. And so far, I have read 20 books in genres that I never pursued before.

When I first looked at this graphic novel, I was wondering if I was dreaming!  I saw Margaret Atwood’s name on the cover wondering if it is the same Margaret Atwood that I have read and enjoyed for years. And much to my surprise it was!

It is so wonderful when a writer constantly tries to stretch her margins of expertise and takes steps to learn a whole new way of conceiving a story. This is the true mark of a genius!

However, from the introduction, I learned that Margaret Atwood read tons of comics when she was a kid. So, this genre was not completely unknown by her.

However, what is different is the content of these stories. They are about creatures that are hard to imagine and  a bit well…spooky!

I loved the  book from start to finish, and I invite anyone in the Book Mine Club to read it.  It is a fun read!  The illustrations are really stunning too, especially the ones towards the end of the book!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Ontario, Graphic Novel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

