Last Year by Robert Charles Wilson (140)

I picked up two books from my local library by Robert Charles Wilson. I am SO glad to have found this author. He definitely has depth and breath and right in line with my intention to expand my reading horizons this year with the Canadian Book Review Challenge!

Robert Charles Wilson is a great storyteller. He will keep you captivated from start to finish. And when you end the book, you will look for more but then you will realize that you are on the last page of the book.

This story has a futuristic theme. We all wonder about what the future will hold. What if you could go to a luxurious hotel/resort and mingle with people who may just tell you more than you really want to know about the future.

I find futuristic novels quite frightening. One wonders how the world will be in 50 to 100 years. And there is a lot of speculation about how it may be. But no one who tends to write about the future portrays a positive or uplifting picture. And this is especially the case in this story.

I loved the idea of the book. Being transported to this place like that is wonderful. And glimpsing the world to come is quite magical too.

This book review will be a bit different. I don’t want to give too much of this story away. So, I will just say that I think it is a story that is definitely worth reading and pondering.

Rating: 5 Stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Ontario, Futuristic Novel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

