Falling in Love with Hominids by Nalo Hopkinson (138)

This is the last book that I am reading by Hopkinson for now. I am sure I will be seeing her in print in the future because she is an amazing writer of short-stories.

This volume is quite good. Some stories were hard to put down. But others were incomplete, or at least so I thought. This was especially the case with some of the stories that were shorter in length.

Nonetheless, I am very glad that I picked up this new book by Nalo Hopkinson. She is an author that is very different. Yet she writes about topics that we are all passionate about. She just really strikes a chord with me, and I was transfixed by her stories, both in the previous book that I read and this one too.

In this book, Hopkinson seems to expand the boundaries of culture and imagination. Her views are crisp and new in many ways. Yet they also sound familiar. It is a very unique set of stories, ones that I will be rereading in the future.

I also decided to buy this book because it is definitely a book that I will be reading and rereading.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Ontario, Cultural Diversity, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

