Brown Girl in the Ring by Nalo Hopkinson (137)

I also decided to read a few book written by Nalo Hopkinson. She is a surprisingly wonderful author. I heard about her through my local library. A copy of this very book was sitting on a table idle…haha.  So, I took it home and read and I became hooked on her writing.

I don’t usually like science fiction books. But again, I am in the process of expanding my reading horizons. Typically, I read hundreds of nonfiction books a year. So, this is a welcome change for me.

This book marks the debut of a great author of fantasy and science fiction. It is an author that has amazing depth and breathe which is a great combination for a science fiction writer.

Her story is also aided by her intimate knowledge of Afro-Caribbean spirituality. In her future, she includes zombies and organ transplants. It is a future not too unlike our own.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

