In Transit by Mavis Gallant (130)

This is Mavis Gallant’s ninth collection of short stories. It is a wonderful read. I enjoyed pouring myself some coca and sitting on my recliner for a few hours reading her stories during the holidays. What a treasure throve of good reading!

This series of short stories describes with elegant and scrupulous precision the quirks of human nature and the limits of human compassion. These are definitely topics that I relish over and over again because I love psychological and philosophical topics that I can sink my teeth into.

In the stories, a host of remarkably drawn characters are surveyed with a cool wit and sophisticated intelligence as they struggle to transcend the imprisonment of their provisional lives.

These stories will all be relevant to each reader in that Gallant has an amazing knack of sucking the reader right into the story so that s(he) seems him/herself in the various characters.

Gallant’s writing is complex and textured. She is a marvelous example of great writing!  I am so glad that I gave myself a chance to enjoy her books.  I have one more to review before I move onto another great Canadian author!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Authors from Quebec, Educational book, Empowerment, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

