Running on Fumes by Christian Guay-Poliquin (63)

This is a wonderful novel by an author from Quebec. I am trying to get my hands on as many Quebec writers as possible and will continue to do so this year. I am from Montreal, Quebec, and I love going back to my roots when I can do so.

This story is a bit of a fantasy. But it also a strong reality base to it too, making it an interesting read to say the least.

There are also mythological references that tweaked my interest in the topic. I was interested in mythology in university when I was doing my undergraduate degree some twenty years ago. I really must say that the author inspired me to go back to some of these texts and have another read and look.

Journeying day and night to reach his dying father, a man is forced to confront his memories and what really matters: family and forgiveness.

In this book, there is a reimagining of the myth of Theseus and the Minotaur, the labyrinth runs straight into the heart of a man who must unravel his past.

In this translation of Christian Guay-Poliquin’s road novel, Jacob Homel conveys the urgency of a post-apocalyptic darkness both real and illusory. It is fueled by the uncanny energy of a timeless journey into the self.

I loved this book. From a philosopher’s perspective , this book had depth and breath, and I truly admired the author for writing it. I love fiction that makes you think!

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Montreal, Creativity, Culture in Canada, Educational book, Empowerment, Fiction, Post Apocalytic Darkness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

