These Festive Nights (40!)**

This was a wonderful read. It is by Marie-Claire Blais. I have a few books by her. Being born in Montreal, she was on my High School Curriculum!

But it has been years since I reread her, until recently. So, I am quite happy to be posting this review!  I will be reading some of her other books that I have at my library here at home over the next few months.

This is a wonderful story. The reader will be transported to a sun-drenched paradise in the Gulf of Mexico that is surrounded by the glimmering blue sea.  It is an oasis of peace and tranquility as well as beauty! It kind of makes you wish you could take a vacation. But every time I read one of her books, I feel that I have gone on a holiday!

Renata is convalescing on the island poised between two worlds: between the wealth and extreme poverty of the island and between the past and an uncertain future as well as between the beauty of the world and the horrors of history.

During her time here, Renata becomes tormented by thirst for justice, pleasure, and intoxication. All around her there are festivities going on in joint celebration of the birth of baby Vincent and the end of the twentieth nights a flock of characters assembles. They are wealthy, poor writers, facing their own mortality. They are men dying of AIDS, refugees, the Ku Klux Klan and other suspicious characters.

In this environment, Marie-Claire Blais captures the essence of our apocalyptic age, rendering it in powerfully evocative prose.

I loved this story from start to finish. It is not an easy read. But it is very rewarding once you finish reading it.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Montreal, Empowerment, Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

