Lost Among the Living (29)

Another great book by St. James.  I loved the feeling I got from this book. The book drew me in with all the good creepy vibes that drew me to her first books on top of getting a suspenseful mystery that are so prevalent in her more recent novels.

First, I love her heroine. She’s strong, courageous, feisty, driven, and a bit impulsive. I sure love women like that. Her grief from her war and personal losses didn’t stop her from creating a life for herself and striving for independence. I can think of other personalities that would have buckled under her plat but not Jo. I loved her guts and pluck.

There are some strong horror images in this novel that shook me to the core. They weren’t as in your face as her first books, yet they didn’t take second stage like in another of her works. The horror and ghosts were a driving element in the mystery story and created some truly spine-tingling imagery to spice up the narrative. They whole clothes in the chair thing? *shiver* Still spooks me out.

I actually liked the mystery in this one. I enjoyed the journey and sleuthing along the way. The clues and steps along the way were spaced out well and kept up a good pace. The reasoning behind the crime surprised me, though. I never saw that bit coming which made for a great suspenseful novel.

This book will be enjoyed by all readers who love suspense novels.

Rating: 4 stars

Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Ontario. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

