The Bonjour Effect (121)

51O6HGW2YZL[1]I picked up this new book at my local library recently because I was intrigued by the subtitle: The secret codes of French conversation revealed!

Coming from Montreal myself, I have a real interest in the way French language is spoken and how the people are. I found them to be intriguing to say the least. But to think that the French in France are similar, was really something!

I opened the book and read the introduction before leaving the library. I was transfixed by the book. I thought it was interesting and a must-read for me.

The French are a unique kind of people. They do say no when they mean yes, refuse to admit they don’t know even when it is obvious that they don’t really know, and also say that they hate their jobs, even if they love them!  Go figure!

It is also true that the French love to argue. They hardly ever converse with each other. They find that boring. Instead, they love to argue. And many of them are very opinionated and stuck in their ways.

So, why are there so many visitors to France every year? Well, there is a lot more than just these reasons that define the French. They are also friendly and they love good food and wine. They can talk for hours, even if they don’t know you. France is also a very beautiful country, one that every person should visit at least once in their life time. So, it is now on my bucket list.

However, if you decide to visit France, please read this book. It is both humorous, informative, and oh yeah, a must read!

This book is engaging, funny, and relaxing. It is will transport you to France.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Montreal, Geography, History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

