The Colony of Unrequited Dreams (119)

This is an amazing novel by Wayne Johnson. I read one of his other books, and I believe that this one is far better than the others. He writes with such depth that I was mesmerized by his characters and haunting landscapes. And to think that all of them are in Newfoundland!  That is even more amazing. I will have to visit Newfoundland one of these days.  It is definitely on my bucket list!

I was particularly fascinated with Smallwood and Fielding, and find myself wanting to know much more about the real life and history of Joey Smallwood. This book gave me a sense of the real man behind the myth, and Smallwood is as unforgettable as his province.

The Colony of Unrequited Dreams portrays the generosity and courage of the ordinary Newfoundlander.  They are truly a wonderful and friendly people.

I recommend this book to anyone in the Book Mine Reading Club and if you really want a good novel that you can sink your teeth into for a few days.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

 

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Author from Newfoundland, Culture in Canada, Educational book, Empowerment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

