The Trudeau Era (97)

The Trudeau Era
By Douglas Baldwin and Patricia Baldwin

This is a GREAT picture book about a truly great politician: Pierre Trudeau!  I had little idea how precisely truly remarkable this man was when I was growing up in Canada.  But I know that I truly admired him with ever fiber of my being. And after reading this book, I truly know why now.

Trudeau was Canada’s most charismatic leader. At first, people were careful to accept him. But it wasn’t long, he became the prime minister that people looked up to and admired from sea to sea.

Trudeau’s educational resume would make anyone take a deep breath and pause. Wow!!!  He was truly an educated man, and a thinker–someone who it would be hard to try to emulate but someone who can inspire to be one’s best.

The book also has a section on his wonderful wife Margaret Trudeau. She was certainly unique and great too. And they together had a wonderful family life.  They did eventually divorce, but they still remained close friends. Both Margaret and Pierre both knew tragedy when their son was killed in an avalanche in British Columbia in 2000.  I remember that day and I remember stopping and just weeping for the grief that they must be feeling.

I was also stricken by how important it was for Trudeau to create rights for minorities in Canada and Quebec. He spent tireless hours making sure that they were taken care in the best way that he could. His policies still remain today.

What a GREAT book which can be read by children, and teens and tweens alike. I also learned a lot from the book.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

 

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Culture in Canada, Educational book, History, Political Book. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

