O Canada: The Wonders of Winter (92)

819VRL5u8cL._SL1500_[1]This is another Chicken Soup for the Soul book.  I decided to read all the ones that I have at the library as part of the April Challenge for the Book Mine Set.  I love John Mutford’s challenges.  And this one isn’t disappointing me either.  So, if anyone hasn’t yet taken up the challenge, I encourage you to do so.

This particular book contains 101 stories about bad weather, good times, and great sports, everything that a Canadian winter can bring, and a lot of!!!

Canadians are known for their love of hockey, so there are a few heartwarming stories about that. There are also stories about how warm-hearted Canadians are and how Canadians enjoy the great outdoors, especially in the winters. I have warm memories of playing outside in Montreal when I was a child. The winters were cold and there were many feet of snow, but I always built snowmen and made snow angels.  Oh, what a time that was!  And many stories in this book took me back to that carefree and wonderful time.

There are also more stories about how Canadians are kind and generous.  It never fails to amaze me how Canadians will help the needy and neighbours in need. I hope we are known for our kindness.  I know that I try to be as generous as possible, given my resources.  How wonderful!

I really enjoyed reading this book, and recommend it to anyone who is participating in this challenge.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

 

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

