A Place of Her Own (15)

A Place of Her Own
By Ann Marie Falk

This is a wonderful novel that is as sad as it is uplifting. The title really grabbed my attention. So, I decided to read it. It brought back memories of my early Toronto days when I moved away from home for the very first time in my early 20’s.

This book is about Stina, a 15-year-old orphan. After her parents died, Stina has to leave her country home and move to the city with her older sister. This cases Stina a lot of anxiety. Although she loves her older sister very much, they really have no room for her in their little apartment. How can Stina keep up with her homework? She tries to do them at her new school but there’s not enough time. As she makes new friends, she can’t invite them to her place either. So, she starts experiencing a terrible loneliness. Her grades start to suffer. Can anyone help her?

I loved this book from start to finish. I recommend it to anyone who lives inspiring books about teens.

Rating: 5 stars

Reviewed by: Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Book Review, Memoir. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

