Tell it to the Trees by Anitarau Badmami (26)

This is among the most wonderful novels I read this year….and I read a LOT of books! What a treat by a Canadian author from Montreal, Canada!

This is a tense, heart-filled story about family life set in an Indian household in a small town in Northern Canada.  The winters are long and cold. But the story will keep you warm and very entertained indeed.

The novel is a bit of a murder mystery. One cold winter morning, a dead body is found in the front yard of Dharma’s family home. It is a body of one of their tenant’s, Anu Krishnan. She apparently went out in a blizzard.  Why did she do that?  The beginning of the novel is gripping and the story continues as it weaves a story of love and need, and of secrets never told to anyone. I just loved the story!

The characters are unforgettable as is the setting. I came from Northern Montreal myself so I can fully relate to the cold and the mystique of the place and story.  In fact, I was transported to my place of birth, and I thank the author for that!

Rating:  5 Stars

Reviewed by:  Irene S. Roth

About irenesroth

I am a freelance and academic writer. I am currently writing a book called `Fearless Freelance Writers`. Please look out for it soon on this blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

